Travel Advisories


Kennesaw State University follows the four advisory levels based on the Department of State Travel Advisories, in addition to CDC warnings and notices. 

Students can use this resource to learn about any travel advisories, notices, or alerts issued by the U.S. government that may affect their education abroad programs. Below you will find descriptions and links covering

  • Department of State Travel Advisories
  • CDC Travel Notices

Be sure to check this page regularly before and during an education abroad experience.



Types of Alerts 

  • U.S. Department of State

    Department of State Travel Advisories

    The U.S. Department of State recently eliminated their Travel Warning system and replaced it with a more effective Travel Advisory System.  The DoS now issues a Travel Advisory for each country in the world.  Travel Advisories follow a consistent format and use plain language to help U.S. citizens find and use important security information.

    Travel Advisories apply up to four standard levels of advice, give a description of the risks, and provide clear actions U.S. citizens should take to help ensure their safety.

    List of Travel Advisories is available as is a Color-coded World Map for a global view.

    The Travel Advisory appears at the top of each country page with a color corresponding to each level:

    Travel Alert Color System

    Level 1 - Exercise Normal Precautions:  This is the lowest advisory level for safety and security risk.  There is some risk in any international travel.  Conditions in other countries may differ from those in the United States and may change at any time.

    Level 2 - Exercise Increased Caution:  Be aware of heightened risks to safety and security.  The DoS provides additional advice to travelers in these areas in the Travel Advisory.  Conditions in the country may change at any time.

    Level 3 - Reconsider Travel:  Avoid travel due to serious risks to safety and security.  The DoS provides additional advice to travelers in these areas of travel.

    Level 4 - Do Not Travel:  This is the highest advisory level due to greater likelihood of life-threatening risks.  During an emergency, the U.S. government may have very limited ability to provide assistance.  The DoS advises that U.S. citizens not travel to the country or to leave as soon as it is safe to do so.  The DoS provides additional advice for travelers in these areas in the Travel Advisory.  Conditions in any country may change at any time.

    Varying Levels:  The DoS issues an overall Travel Advisory for a country, but levels of advice may vary for specific locations or areas within a country.  For instance, the DoS may advise travelers to "Exercise Increased Caution" (Level 2) in a country, but to "Reconsider Travel" (Level 3) to a particular area within a country.

    Risk Indicators:  Travel Advisories at Levels 2-4 will contain clear reasons for the assigned level using established risk indicators and specific advice to U.S. citizens who choose to travel there.  These are:

    • C - Crime:  Widespread violent or organized crime is present in the areas of the country.  Local law enforcement may have limited ability to respond to serious crimes.
    • T - Terrorism:  Terrorist attacks have occurred and/or specific threats against civilians, groups, or other targets may exist.
    • U - Civil Unrest:  Political, economic, religious, and/or ethnic instability exists and may cause violence, major disruptions, and/or safety risks.
    • H - Health:  Health risks, including current disease outbreaks or a crisis that disrupts a country's medical infrastructure, are present.  The issuance of a Centers for Disease Control Travel Notice may also be a factor.
    • N - Natural Disaster:  A natural disaster, or its aftermath, poses danger.
    • E - Time Limited Event:  Short-term event, such as elections, sporting events, or other incidents that may pose safety risks.
    • O - Other:  There are potential risks not covered by previous risk indicators


  • CDC Logo

    CDC Travel Notices

    CDC Travel Notices are designed to inform travelers and clinicians about current health issues related to specific destinations. These issues may arise from disease outbreaks, special events or gatherings, or other conditions.

    CDC Travel Notices are issued in the following three levels:

    • Level 1: Practice Usual Precautions
    • Level 2: Practice Enhanced Precautions
    • Level 3: Avoid Nonessential Travel