J-1 Scholars

J-1 ScholarsKSU is committed to the Exchange Visitor Program through activities that encourage foreign professors, research scholars, short-term scholars, and specialists to visit the campus through reciprocal exchange programs with KSU faculty and students. The University actively collaborates with partner institutions to facilitate semester and yearlong exchanges. Presently KSU facilitates student and scholar exchange programs in nine different countries: Belgium, Belize, Canada, Germany, Ghana, Israel, Japan, Morocco, South Korea, Spain.

The J-1 Exchange Visitor Program (EVP) was developed by the Department of State (DOS) in 1961 to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries by means of educational and cultural exchanges. J-1 scholars are non-immigrants pursuing a specific program objective at academic institutions in the U.S., as designated by the Department of State. J-1 Exchange Visitors at KSU are categorized as research scholars, professors, short-term scholars, or specialists.